

Academic Senate – All Faculty

Agenda for Thursday September 8, 2022

12:30 pm – 1:50 pm Cravens Student Center – Multi-Purpose Room

Simulcast Via Zoom Link

COLLEGE OF THE DESERT MISSION: College of the Desert provides excellent educational programs in basic skills, career and technical education, certificate, transfer preparation, associate degrees, noncredit and distance education, which are continuously evaluated and improved. Our programs and services contribute to the success, learning and achievement of our diverse students and the vitality of the Desert Community College District, surrounding areas and beyond.

***Persons with disabilities may make a written request for a disabilityrelated modification or accommodation, including for auxiliary aids or services, to take part in the Senate meeting. Requests should be directed to the Academic Senate President and/or Secretary as soon in advance of the Senate meeting as possible. The Senate minutes of the meeting are the official record of the actions of the Senate. The Senate meetings are governed by the Ralph M. Brown Act (California Code 54950 through 54962).

Faculty Senate Members (18)

Senate Exec (8): Kim Dozier, President; John Learned, Curriculum; Kurt Spurgin, Educational Policies and Practices; Mari Abril, Educational Technology/Distance Ed; Donna Greene, Faculty Development; Corbyn Wild, Outcomes & Assessment; Christina Dodough, Senorina Saldivar, Senate Adjuncts

Senators (10): Lisa Soccio, Arts & Media; Chantae Wilson, Applied Sciences; Yolanda Bender, Business; Heather Benes, Communication/Humanities; Jenna Huntzinger, Counseling; Sarah Gaete, Health Sciences & Education; Maria Herrera, Library, Distance Ed, Student Support Services; Mike McJilton, Math & Computer Science; Edith Rojas-Salazar, Science & Engineering; Eliu Benavides, Social Sciences

Quorum 9 Majority 10: Subject to Brown Act: Yes

1. Call to Order/Roll Call

1.1 Public Comments

2. Action Items

- 2.1 Approval of Agenda
- 2.2 Approval of May 12, 2022, Minutes
- 2.3 Quick Overview of Senate Roles and Responsibilities of Chairs and Academic Unit Representatives (Kim)
- 2.4 Consent
- 2.4.1 Ratification of 2022-2023 Legislative Liaisons
 - 2.4.1.1 Jin An-Dunning, OER
 - 2.4.1.2 Andrew Aleman, Advocacy
 - 2.4.1.3 Yolanda Bender, CTE
 - 2.4.1.4 Alison Airhart, Non-Credit

2.3.2 Ratification of 2022-2023 Professional Development Sub-Committee Chair Chantae Wilson

2.3.3 Ratification of 2022-2023 Sabbatical Sub-Committee Chair Laurilie Jackson

- 2.3.4 Emeritus Elise King Resolution 1.175
- 2.3.5 Emeritus Lisa McFadden Resolution 1.176
- 2.5 Items removed from Consent
- 2.6 Educational Policies & Practices Second Reading AP 4230 AP 4230 Link
- 2.7 Educational Policies & Practices First Reading AP 4010 AP 4010 Link

3. Information/Discussion Items

- 3.1 Brown Act and Robert's Rules of Order Donna Greene
- 3.2 Strategic Master Plan Taskforce Update Kim

4. Reports/Updates

- 4.1 Faculty Development- Donna Greene
- 4.2 Ed Tech/DE: Mari April
- 4.3 Outcomes and Assessment Corbyn Wild
- 4.4 Educational Policies & Practices Kurt Spurgin
- 4.5 Adjunct Christina Dodough
- 4.6 Curriculum John Learned
- 4.7 Student Representative -
- 4.8 Senate President K. Dozier
- 5. Good of the Order

6. Future Agenda Topics

7. Adjournment

Next Meeting

Thursday September 22, 2022

12:30 pm – 1:50 pm Cravens Student Center - MPR (Multi-Purpose Room)

Simulcast Zoom Link