

Academic Senate – All Faculty Agenda for November 14, 2024 12:30 pm – 1:50 pm

https://collegeofthedesert-edu.zoom.us/j/84954519219?pwd=M7bWGOeMUIZvKeLnB3WnBiTVr1ROrP.1

Academic Senate Mission Statement: As the official voice of faculty in academic and professional matters at the College of the Desert, the Academic Senate is committed to equity, student learning and student success. The Academic Senate at College of the Desert is committed to:

Lead and advocate proactively for the development of policies, processes, and practices that benefit student success and develop faculty leaders;

Include diverse faculty, perspectives, and experiences that represent our student populations in our decision making;

Empowering faculty to engage the shared governance of College of the Desert in the 10+1 areas and to take-action for continued improvement of teaching, learning, and faculty participation in the areas of:

1. Curriculum including establishing prerequisites and placing courses within disciplines
2. Degree and certificate requirements
3. Grading policies
4. Educational program development and educational program discontinuance
5. Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success
6. District and college governance structures, as related to faculty roles
7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes, including self- study and annual reports
8. Policies for faculty professional development activities
9. Processes for program review
10. Processes for institutional planning and budget development

Other academic and professional matters as mutually agreed upon between the governing board and the academic senate.

Senate Executive Members:

Corbyn Wild, President; John Learned, Curriculum; Kurt Spurgin, Educational Policies & Practices; Jenne Carey, Ed Tech & Distance Ed; Leif Jordan, Faculty Development; Kristie Camacho, Outcomes & Assessment, Mike Gladych, Adjunct

Senators:

Social Sciences Oceana Collins, Health Sciences & Education Talon Hart/alt. Amy Hetherington, Science & Engineering Giuseppe Vezzoli/alt. Edith Rojas, Math & Computer Science Jorge Pérez/alt. Melissa Flora, Applied Science Cameron Miller/alt. Jeff Place, General Counseling Victoria Bautista/alt. Monica Lopez, Communication and Humanities, Marina Church, Library, DE, & Student Support Services Vacant/alt. Cora Leighton, Business Kurt Struwe/alt. Michael Hamilton, Arts & Media Lisa Soccio/alt. Jenne Carey, Adjunct Mike Gladych/alt. Lisa Davenport

Guests:

Recorder:

Cheryl Louise Etter, Academic Senate

Quorum 9 Majority 10:

Subject to Brown Act: Yes

1. Call to Order/Roll Call

1.1 Public Comments

2. Action Items

- 2.1 Approval of Agenda
- 2.2 Approval of October 24, 2024, Minutes <u>Draft Minutes</u>
- 2.3 Consent
 - 2.3.1 Curriculum Courses Approved through November 5, 2024.
- 2.4 Items removed from Consent
- 2.5 OAC: First Reading Resolution 2.4 Dual and Concurrent Enrollment Instructors Resolution 2.4
- 2.6 EPP: First Reading: AP 4102 Career and Technical Education AP 4102 First Reading
- 2.7 EPP: First Reading: AP 4255 Dismissal and Readmission AP 4255 First Reading

3. Information/Discussion Items

- 3.1 Student Spotlight -Social Justice Club
- 3.2 Follow Up on Outstanding People of the Year Corbyn Wild
- 3.3 Dual Enrollment Handbook Kristie Camacho

4. Reports

- 4.1 Educational Policies and Practices: Kurt Spurgin
- 4.2 Adjuncts: Mike Gladych, Lisa Davenport
- 4.3 Outcomes & Assessment: Kristie Camacho
- 4.4 Faculty Development: Leif Jordan
- 4.5 Curriculum: John Learned
- 4.6 Ed Tech & Distance Ed: Jenne Carey
- 4.7 ASCOD: Daisy
- 4.8 Senate President: Corbyn Wild
- 5. Good of the Order
- 6. Future Agenda Topics
- 7. Adjournment

Next Meeting December 12, 2024